All That Jazz

February 28, 2006

Living Office-less

Filed under: Uncategorized — zimbo @ 11:45 am

About two years ago, I had the chance to ditch my 9-5 and start doing some independent consulting. That dried up about 6 months ago, and I took a full-time job with one of my clients. At the same time, I moved 400 miles away from that client.

To make a short story long, I work completely officeless. Yes, I have an office set up in my house, but I find I can only work there a day or two a week. I go completely batty if I don’t get out, which is weird, because I am pretty antisocial.

So, I haunt coffee shops, and particularly coffee shops with free WiFi (although this is being written from $tarbuck$ at the moment because I got a free month on T-mobile).

I’m going to do a series on the coffeeshop-as-workplace. There’s a crapload of etiquette, technical, and productivity lessons I’ve learned over the last few years that I’d like to share with some of my officemates, who no doubt will not be reading this, but it’ll make me feel better.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

